Reviews

 Reviews for Deadly Storm - A Kelli Storm Novel


4.0 out of 5 starsGreat action thriller!
February 18, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition| Amazon Verified Purchase

A fast-paced action thriller with gutsy detective Kelli Storm, who sometimes (maybe often?) lets her zeal to catch a bad guy overwhelm caution. This time, she’s on the hunt for Russian mobsters who want her dead. When they link up with Colombian drug smugglers, things get really bad and nasty, but Kelli comes through. While this is going on, she has to figure out what to do in her messy personal life, ultimately having to choose between the two men who love her. Would have given it five stars if Kelli had let me get inside her head a little more. (But then, I'm not sure she lets anyone do that!) That said, great book!

5.0 out of 5 starsCan't put it Down November 3, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
Edge of your seat, can't put it down Detective thriller. I can't wait to read the other books!
Good job.

Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase
This story really grabs you and keeps you interested from beginning to end. I read it in a day. I have only encountered a few male writers who "get" females characters and write them correctly. I am usually hesitant to read a book in which a female is the lead character and a man wrote it, but I will never hesitate to read more by this talented writer. Great job!

5.0 out of 5 stars Deadly Storm August 4, 2013
By Robin
Format:Paperback|Amazon Verified Purchase
Once again, Kelli pushes the limit. She doesn't let anything get in her way when it comes to a case. Kenneth has excelled once again in his writing. Looking forward to book 4. Anxious to see what Kelli gets herself into next.

5.0 out of 5 starsauthorpholloway July 9, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase
I am happy to be the first to review this very good novel by Kenneth Hoss. I liked the first two Kelli Storm novels but I can see this author growing with each book. This one was my favorite. Kelli Storm is one tough bitch. I love her. I love the way the author has made her very human with many faults. He has portrayed a recovering alcoholic to a tee. In this novel, Kelli finds her name on the hit list of a murdered assassin. I don't want to give away any of the plot, but this one is so involved with so many characters that you almost need a map to keep up. I love the way he brought in some of the characters from previous novels. It reminds me a little of Patricia Cornwell. Both authors leave the door open at the end of each book so that you know there is still a bad guy out there to be caught. When is the next one, Kenneth?

____________________________________________________

Reviews for Storm Warning - A Kelli Storm Novel 

5.0 out of 5 stars Kelli Storm is unforgettable character. My new super-hero!, June 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storm Warning - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kelli Storm Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
By the time I finished the first Kelli Storm book in this series by author Kenneth Hoss, I was sold on Detective Storm...and on Hoss. Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kelli Storm Series Book 1) was an exciting read from beginning to end.

I couldn't wait for the second book, Storm Warning - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kelli Storm Series Book 2), thinking I would review it right away. My apologies to the author for this late review, but circumstances prevented writing it sooner.

I enjoy books that make me feel for the characters, make me really care about what happens to them--and that's exactly what I got in both these books. Hoss gives more of Kelli's back-story in this book, moving at the proper rate of exposure. The more I get to know this feisty, brave New York detective, the more I like her.

She's a great character; tough when called for to do her job but soft and compassionate as a real woman should be. In other words, she's a realistic, well-balanced, likeable character. I find myself thinking about her long after reading the last page.

Hoss has a writing style that's easy to read and a way of plotting that makes me want more. After experiencing more highs and lows in Kelli Storm's adventurous life, I find that two books aren't enough.

I want more. And this author is supplying my craving. I understand there's a third book out now with a fourth in progress.

Yay! Bring Kelli Storm on! I'm ready for more adventure. She's my new super-hero!



4.0 out of 5 stars Kelli Storm Returns, August 15, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storm Warning - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kelli Storm Series) (Kindle Edition)
Storm Warning is the second book in the Kelli Storm Series. The first in series, Storm Rising was previously reviewed here. In Storm Warning, we meet again Kelli Storm, NYPD detective with a complicated personal life, and her new partner, Eric Ryder. The action kicks of immediately with Ryder being shot in what at first appears to be a robbery gone wrong. But nothing is ever simple for Storm. This seemingly freak event opens an investigation that resurrects a supposedly dead drug lord, Miguel Garcia, who is hell-bent on killing Kelli and anyone else in his way.
If I had to suggest areas for improvement it would be in pacing and, in particular, tension. There are key scenes where the writing is more laid back than it should be. Tension can be created by the artful use of shorter sentences, clipped dialogue and vivid verbs. I found the ending to not be the climax I was hoping for in terms of tension and action. I wanted to be more on the edge of my seat and right there with Storm.
However, the action scenes are vivid without being as gory as they could be. Mr. Hoss, to these non-expert eyes, seems to have a handle on police procedure and daily life issues. The plot proceeds logically without any holes. There are no noticeable unnecessary point of view slips and with the exception of a few errors it is adequately edited, although it could use a second read through. Kelli Storm continues to unfold as a three dimensional character and I hope to see her "issues" rise even further to surface in the future.

 5.0 out of 5 stars Storm Warning, July 14, 2013
By 
This review is from: Storm Warning - A Kelli Storm Novel (Paperback)
Kelli has a knack for getting into trouble to track down a criminal, she doesn't care what the cost is either. This book was very intriguing, I couldn't put it down. Ready to read Deadly Storm to see what she gets into next.

Goodreads Review - Storm Warning - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kelli Storm Series) Gail Baugniet - April 21, 2013 
5.0 out of 5 stars

Detective Kelli Storm is back in the sequel to author Kenneth Hoss’s Storm Rising. In the opening of Storm Warning: A Kelli Storm Novel (Kelli Storm Series), Detective Storm is headed back to the police station with her partner when he stops at a bodega to pick up a soda and is shot during a botched robbery.

There goes another of Storm’s partners. She seems to lose them like car keys, only in more deadly ways. During the investigation into why a dumb street junkie would shoot an NYPD cop, or why that junkie is mixed up with a drug lord, Storm picks up some scary intel about the death of her last partner, and about the two major drug gangs in her precinct.

Hoss writes another tight police procedural with Kelli Storm leading a strong cast of major players. The author has done his research on Colombian drug deals and crack cocaine, as well as on gangs of New York. Humor seeps into the story in subtle and unexpected ways, triggering the reaction to smile without slowing the reader’s pace.

Kelli Storm is working on a personal relationship and dealing with her mother’s dementia in between investigations. It isn’t difficult to suppose she is headed on a collision course with so much tension building in her life. She’s been sober for five years. How much longer can she hold out while she searches to find the drug lord who wants her dead, and aims to shut down drug operations in the city? The pace of the story never lingers or flounders, moving forward with purpose to a climax that leaves the reader looking forward to the next installation in the Kelli Storm Series.


4.0 out of 5 stars Storm Warning by Kenneth Hoss, February 25, 2013
If you like hard and tough lady cops, Kelli Storm is the gal for you. Although ruthless on the job, she is a vulnerable woman with a soft spot for her ex-husband, also a cop, and her beloved mother. Kenneth Hoss uses a timeline throughout the story which makes it fly by, keeping you suspensefully engaged in Kelli's next move. This book travels from the streets of New York all the way to Colombia, before Kelli "gets her man," the drug lord who has made numerous attempts on her life

5.0 out of 5 stars authorpholloway, November 26, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storm Warning - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kelli Storm Series) (Kindle Edition)
This character, Kelli Storm, is a kick! She's the main character in both of the Storm books. I enjoyed reading this book very much. I love the character though she has plenty of room to grow. She is a recovering alcoholic and the author has portrayed that personality beautifully. She is a female version of Dirty Harry and, like him, she makes those in authority angry at her and she gets suspended sometimes, but she has a toughness that I like to see in women and she gets the job done. Thanks Kenneth for another fine book. Looking forward to the next one. 
 
4.0 out of 5 stars "Hunting or Being Hunted?, November 7, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In this second of a series, Detective Kelli Storm of the NYPD is the crime solver again. She's lost two partners and her current partner is now shot in the shoulder without any provocation. She confronts hard-core gang members trying to learn why her partner was shot. Raul confesses on his deathbed to shooting Kelli's partner.. but why did Raul do it? Raul was just a street punk, so who hired him? After confronting several gang members aggressively, she finally discovers that Miguel Garcia, a big Colombian drug lord, did not die in a car explosion and that he once again is running a huge cartel. Kelli realizes that if Miguel is still alive, he'll be coming after her to destroy her life...or her friends. This is a fast-moving, high action detective story that will grab you. I'd like to see this made into a movie and wonder who might be filling the role of Kelli Storm. She would have to be one strong, tough woman. Till then, read the book. This story is vigorously written, and could have had a bit more editing, but it did not slow me down in the thrill of the hunt.


4.0 out of 5 stars  Gripping Police Procedural October 21, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase
Kelli Storm is a New York City police detective in a neighborhood where, despite famously improved crime statistics, murder, robbery and gang violence are all daily occurrences. A recovered alcoholic, Kelli is divorced from another cop, but now back together with him. When she learns that a Columbian drug lord is gunning for her because of a personal vendetta, her instinct is to face him down rather than run away.

The stage is set for a gripping police procedural. With all her foibles on display, Kelli is a truly likeable main character. The cat and mouse game with the bad guys is complicated further by constantly shifting alliances among the different law enforcement agencies involved, including DEA, FBI, the uniformed police and the detective unit. Not to mention trust issues. The book contains powerful surprises that kept me guessing right up to the ending, just the way I like it. Recommended.

 
5.0 out of 5 starsYou'll Love It October 18, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
This story took me back to my days on the job. Real police action, exciting story line, and a great delivery. When you start reading you honestly will not want to put it down. Great job, Kenneth, keep'm coming. 
By MrWrite
Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase
Storm Warning is the second in the Kelli Storm series. The story centers around Detective Kelli Storm, who has incurred the wrath of an evil drug baron after she is forced to shoot his sister. kelli Storm is very blunt, head-strong and a totally believable character. She has her faults. She's a recovering alcoholic, stubborn and once she gets an idea in her head, nothing can move it. Yet for all that, she's very likeable and you can't help caring what happens to her.


5.0 out of 5 starsStorm Warning September 19, 2012
Format:Paperback
This book is a great read. The dialog was believable and the scenario was very believable. I think anyone who enjoys police shows or detective show will really enjoy this book, it is easy to get into from beginning to end. I think this book would also make a great television show.

_________________________________________________

Reviews for Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel


4.0 out of 5 stars Storm Rising, July 14, 2013
By 
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book, it caught my attention and I found myself not wanting to put it down. Kelli always gets gets her guy.
4.0 out of 5 stars Storm Rising June 30, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase
For his first book I was very impressed.I'm not usually a big reader so it takes a lot to keep my interest. Couldn't put it down till I had to go to work .. Good job Kenneth


4.0 out of 5 stars Kinsey Millhone with a NY Attitude, June 7, 2013
By 
FredC (Mount Dora, FL) - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
If you like Kinsey Millhone mysteries, or Castle's Kate Becket/Nikki Heat, you should enjoy this book, especially if you are familiar with NYC and the surrounding area.

4.0 out of 5 starsA great first book that has me hooked on the series!, March 14, 2013
By 
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
Being the first I've read from Mr. Hoss, I wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised by a well thought out main character and plot twists that kept me reading.

I am no expert in police procedures so I have no comments on the accuracy, however I enjoyed the details and they made sense to me. Mr. Hoss provided lots of action through a character that I enjoyed following along with.

There were a few minor editing issues that I picked up on but nothing that would take away from the story or distract me from turning the pages.

I recommend Storm Rising from author Kenneth Hoss. I will continue with the rest of the series and I suggest you pick up this series if you enjoy a good police procedural.



5.0 out of 5 stars A Review by UK author Paul Anthony, November 16, 2012


This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book by Ken Hoss. Storm Rising tells the tale of NYPD detective Kelli Storm and her partner. The action is fluid, the book well written, and it is well worth investing in. I enjoyed the style of writing and saw Kelli as quite a strongly formed character with a clear sense of purpose in her mission to put the bad guys away and protect herself from being killed at the same time. Yes, it's a goodread and well worth the five stars. Now looking forward to Storm Warning, the next in the series.


 5.0 out of 5 starsWell-Planned & Believable!, October 13, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
STORM RISING is the first focused police procedural novel I have read. Therefore, I received quite an education. I am always interested in stories that focus on drug lords and their cartels. This premise did not disappoint me. Kelli Storm is a wonderfully strong female character, a great cop with a personal life that is in shambles. Her character is easy to identify with in the scheme of her profession.

The author is clearly well informed and his characters and story are well-planned and believable. The drug cartel is certainly a current issue that concerns most everyone in the United States. A good read for anyone interested in police procedures and the inner functions of the illegal drug industry.


5.0 out of 5 stars Twists and Turns, October 4, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
The story is a detective's daily life while she solves problems in her personal life and in her detective work. The descriptions of the characters are short and the story continues quickly.


4.0 out of 5 stars Texas Author Takes NYPD Police Procedural by STORM, September 4, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
It is always a risk picking up a debut police procedural thriller with a female main character written by a man. Kenneth Hoss' Storm Rising-a Kelli Storm Novel is definitely worth it!

Kelli Storm, is a sharp and capable New York City Detective. Too bad that doesn't carry-over to her personal life, which is nothing short of a mess. Kelli and her partner Bill investigate a series of drug-related murders tied to a Mexican-Colombian cartel in the Washington Heights section of New York. Kelli knows she is getting close when informants and witnesses turn up dead. Then evidence points to a connection between the events of today and her father's murder twenty years ago and things get even more interesting. When the cartel comes after her she figures that's just part of the job. But when they attack her family and friends, Kelli will test her commitment to proper procedure even as events resurrect hurts, demons and perhaps an old love from her past.

This terrific novel is tightly paced with well drawn characters and a finely crafted plot. Mr. Hoss has introduced us to a female detective that is an experienced and somewhat jaded police officer who is at the same time vulnerable. Mr. Hoss pulls off a fine balance of these qualities so that at no time did I feel like Kelli Storm was a cliché or stereotype. He even handles the romance (no spoilers here) well.
I am not an expert on police procedurals so I will only say that it worked for me. I do know that in fiction, including top rated television shows, license with procedure is taken for the sake of moving the plot along. In real life, toxicology and DNA reports NEVER come back that quickly. I also know that there are patterns of dialogue in this genre and from what I can see Mr. Hoss has captured them.
But I have lived in New York City and grew up in Jersey City and Bayonne, all settings in the novel. So I will offer my opinion on that. I will say that Mr. Hoss gets the flavor of these locations just right. He captures the gritty darkness that surrounds them and all the shadows where the bad guys can hide.
To make this novel perfect, I would only make suggestions around minor editing and formatting.
This is a terrific first novel and one of three in a series. The next Kelli Storm book, Storm Warning is due out in September. While I'm told you don't have to read this first.... don't miss seeing where it all began. From what I have heard, Storm Warning will be even better.
I give Storm Rising 4.5 triskeles



4.0 out of 5 stars If you like a good cop tale, then you'll like this one., June 30, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
Detective Kelli Storm has a lot on her plate. She's after a big time drug dealer, is breaking in a new partner, dealing with her mother's worsening Alzheimer's and battling the desire to fall off the wagon.

When she uncovers evidence that links her case to the murder of her father decades earlier, it takes on a new urgency and yet she is stymied by the DEA, who tell her to back off, she's on their turf.

Lots of action, realistic settings and dialogue, coupled with feminine introspection make this a believable and entertaining read. Not a perfect one but perfection is so often overrated. I liked Kelli and the host of characters and found Storm Rising to be a very satisfying experience.


5.0 out of 5 starsGreat Cop Procedural Novel!, June 2, 2012
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
I need to start by saying I really enjoy cop procedural novels and this one fits the bill perfectly. Kelli Storm is a complex character who is trying to be a good cop, find her father's killer, while juggling demons and emotional issues that are beyond her control. She portrays a "tough as nails" personality to the world, but she is really incredibly vulnerable and that makes for a fascinating character. The novel is fast-paced, whippet quick at times, and very enjoyable. Great job by Hoss and I'm looking forward to reading more of his work!



5.0 out of 5 starsStorm Rising: A Kelli Storm Novel by Kenneth Hoss, April 16, 2012
Detective Kelli Storm has seen too much sadness in the last few years. She's lost her father, a partner and now her mother has Alzheimer's. Kelli's new partner Bill Hayes is someone she has a feeling will become a great detective one day. She likes him. Their first case together starts off badly. They are trying to nail down one of the biggest scumbags in town. The leads they get keep sending them no where. Suddenly they are caught in a whirlwind of trouble. Kelli shoots the girlfriend of the scumbag. The dead girl's father steps into the picture and Kelli's life is at stake. While going through her father's old cases, she learns her father was after the dead girl's father. It starts to appear like everything is connected but just how? Kelli's mom is kidnapped and her new partner and his wife shot. Kelli is now out for blood. She turns to her ex husband for help and between the two of them they might just figure out what all this is about. Keeping Kelli safe becomes a job for her squad and her ex husband's department. She's determined to settle the score.

Kelli is a fantastic character for women everywhere. She's strong, intelligent and a take-no-crap- kind of woman. Her love of family and her job shows just what a wonderful person she is. The story is easy to get lost in because of the action. Every time something happens you want to hurry to find out why and what happened as a result. The writing is right in line with any of the big name cop shows on TV. I can actually see this one as a weekly show or a movie series. You'll love that it's written in cop speak and down to earth language. Kenneth Hoss did a fantastic job of putting you in Kelli's shoes and making you part of the story. I applaud his efforts!

The only issue I found was the trip to Mexico. Seemed a little overkill, but that's just my opinion. Couldn't see the need for it.

I gave this one 5 out of 5 books because I'm a real sucker for anything law related.



5.0 out of 5 starsEntertaining and fast read, March 28, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Storm Rising by Kenneth Hoss was recommended to me from Amazon.com, based on some of my earlier reads. I found it to be fast-paced, and an enjoyable read.

Kelli Storm is a strong, and capable female lead, who can kick butt on her job, but struggles in her personal life. From the start of the story, she and her partner are on the hunt for a known drug dealer with a deadly reputation. At the same time, she is worried about her mother, who is in the early stages of Alzheimer's.

Complications arise, when she learns that the man she is after is involved with a case for the DEA, and they want her to back off. When her life, and that of her partner and mother, are put in jeopardy, Kelli comes out fighting.

Kenneth Hoss was able to show that the death of her father, years earlier, was the driving force behind her ability to become a tough cop, and fuels her forward.

Highly recommend.

Author of Gone at Zero Hundred 00:00, writing under pen name CR HIATT






4.0 out of 5 stars A good police thriller, March 6, 2012
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
Kelli Storm is a detective in the NYPD. She is investigating a major drugs case, whilst meanwhile worrying about her mother - suffering from the early stages of Alzheimer's. But her case is forced into the shadows by the DEA, who tell her to keep away from the central figure in the gang - they have been working on a case for three years with him, and Kelli is likely to blow it wide open if she doesn't keep her distance. Kelli is incensed by this, and when she herself becomes under attack through her home, her mother and her partner, she is determined to see justice done.

Kelli is a straight talker, and I am genuinely intrigued to know if this is actually how police women behave and speak! She seems to be fearless - except in her private life, where she has a history of problems. It's not entirely clear what brought these problems on in the first place, but she has been fighting her demons and appears to be coming out the other side.

On the whole, the character of Kelli Storm is very well portrayed. As the reader, you can't help to be on her side. Kenneth Hoss has done a great job of giving her a character with conflicting characteristics which are nevertheless entirely credible. The story is fast and punchy, with never a dull moment.

In places, the writing shows that this is a novel which has not been professionally edited. As a reader, it felt as if Hoss was bursting to tell the story, and just couldn't wait to get it down on paper. That is a real strength in many ways, because the enthusiasm shines through. But it has led to a few sections which don't scan as well as they might.

In spite of those issues, if you love fast action police thrillers, I am confident that you will love Storm Rising.


Reviewed for the Kindle Book Review.





5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, March 5, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Detective Kelli Storm and her partner, Bill Hayes are investigating a series of murders in the Washington Heights area of New York City. But, when one of the witnesses is assaulted and left for dead, the DEA informs Kelli that she is no longer on the case. However Kelli is determined to follow the case through and continues to work in the background. Digging through some old case files, she finds a connection between the killer and her father's murder.

This is a well-written, nail-biting read about a drug baron, who kills whoever gets in his way. I found myself being hurtled from one exciting scene to the next, as Kelli Storm's determination to find the truth, lead her and her partner into dangerous situations. Even when she and those around her are targeted, she doesn't give up. The author keeps up the suspense until the end. A must for thriller fans.

This is the first in a series of novels about Kelli Storm. I look forward to reading the sequel.


4.0 out of 5 stars Page Turner, March 3, 2012
By 
Lanie Malone (Louisiana, United States) - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
I thought this book had a pretty strong plot and it was definitely a page turner. I read most of it without realizing how fast it was going.

Kelli Storm is a likeable, believable character whom I think many people could relate to, even though we aren't all cops. Hoss gives a decent amount of background information for most of the supporting character, just enough to let you get a feel for them without taking too much of the spotlight away from Kelli.

My only complaints, and the reason that I didn't give it five stars, was the dialogue. While some of it was really good, I felt that some of the words/ phrases were used repetitiously, particularly towards the end. The banter between characters could have been a little stronger as well.

I also felt that ending could have packed a little more punch. I really like the concept of it and the plan of attack but I thought perhaps it should have been a little more involved. Just a little bit deeper and it would have been perfect.

Over all, it was a very good read and I would certainly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good cop/ thriller.


5.0 out of 5 starsA tense fast-paced ride, March 1, 2012
By 
MrWrite (NYC)
 
In Kelli Storm, Kenneth Hoss has created a believable three dimensional character that will live long in the memory. She's not perfect. She can be impatient, bitchy and is prone to making rash decisions. But all this serves to round her up to feel like a living breathing person. She is also loyal, fiercely protective of the people she cares for, and courageous. After Detective Kelli shoots a powerful drug baron's daughter during a raid, she finds her whole life turned upside down. Following an attempt on her own life, the baron targets the people closest to her. Kelli isn't going to take that lying down. She's going to fight back the only way she knows how. There are some very suspenseful scenes in this fast moving thriller as the bad guys make repeated attempts to silence the fiesty female. A storm is brewing and Kelli intends to rain on their parade.(



4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, give it a try., February 6, 2012
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
I recently came across Storm Rising, a mystery/thriller/suspense novel by Kenneth Hoss. As I am not generally drawn to detective centered stories, I probably would have passed on the book had I not heard such great things about it. I am glad that I trusted the reviews and read the book. Kenneth Hoss has managed to tell his story in a way which keeps the well written, fast paced saga interesting and entertaining.
Kelli Storm is a gritty, down to earth female protagonist who is determined to take care of herself and those she loves. After being pulled into a whirlwind of personal battles, the strong willed, spunky detective is determined to hold her own in both her professional and personal life, leaning on those she must in order to do this. Although Kelli Storm is not always likable, she is very believable, and that combined with an interesting storyline makes the book a good read. I am interested to see what mess Kelli will find herself in, with the next book of the series.



5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Storm, February 1, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
Kelli Storm is a female NYC detective. You might call her a cougar; but no, she's not an old lady on the hunt! She is a wildly obsessive detective who does not quit the hunt for the leader of the largest drug cartell in Columbia and Mexico. Miguel Garcia is the most powerful drug lord who brought death to her partner and his wife; he's linked to the death of her father who was also a detective. Attempts have been made on Kelli's life, too, as well as her mother being kidnapped from an assisted living facility. Her hunt for this man takes her into the barren desert of Mexico and also to Mexico City. Kelli is fiesty, but you come to respect her for her attempts to right so many wrongs. The characters are well defined, each one memorable. This novel is high action, extremely well written, and styled to move you rapidly from scene to scene. I look forward to more excitement that comes into Kelli's life. I want more, and I want it soon!





5.0 out of 5 starsStorm Rising - A Thrilling Ride, January 29, 2012
By 
Kelli Storm is a lovable character with the harshness of a seasoned cop, the compassion of a loving daughter, and the frailty of an ordinary woman. Her goal in life is to be a police detective like her father who was gunned down when Kelli was ten years old. She becomes a top-notch detective, married to her work after overcoming personal obstacles from a failed marriage and substance abuse. Through the years, she's never given up on finding her father's killer. Kelli runs into a bit of trouble when she investigates a murder at a nightclub associated with an elusive kingpin of an international drug cartel. Kelli's personal life becomes closely woven into the case when she finds a connection to her father's murder. The investigation affects her home, her career, and the lives of the people closest to her. The story gets even hotter when Kelli and an old partner team up and meet the enemy on his own turf.

While reading this book, the images were so clear that they danced in front of me. The police department dialogue and the date, hour and time prompts moved the story along and reminded me of watching a detective show on television. Storm Rising was a thrilling ride that kept me glued to my seat.


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read!, January 17, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
Wow! A page turner. I stayed up until the wee hours glued to this exciting New York City police driven drama where Kenneth Hoss takes the reader on an exhilarating roller coaster ride, as he cleverly weaves a few murder cases together. His hero cop Kelli Storm gets to solve a cold case very close to her heart, while barely staying alive as she gets closer to taking down a major drug lord's vast empire. A heart stopping race against time that is a wonderful read. It takes a special talent to write successful cop stories and Mr. Hoss has it!


4.0 out of 5 stars authorpholloway, December 22, 2011
By 
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
I think, for a first book, this book is very good. Kenneth Hoss has made the character very human and very female. How did a man do that? The story moves along at a good pace for me and doesn't drag in places like some books do. Also, he doesn't get caught up in detail about how they got from point A to point B, which is something that drives me crazy and something that many male authors tend to do. I think there could be more character development but believe that will come with more books. Keep writing, Kenneth. Peggy Holloway, author of DOUBLE SHOCK.


5.0 out of 5 starsGreat Police Thriller, December 7, 2011
By 
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
I was first attracted to this book by the title, which I loved.
Storm Rising revolves around Kelli Storm, the strong female protagonist, as she tries to balance her complicated personal life with a life and death crisis in her career. She proved a strong lead, yet very human. I felt like I really got to know her.
The story grabbed my attention at the start and never let go. While my schedule required reading this book in several sittings, I could easily have read it in one.
I was glad to discover that Storm Rising is the first of a series. I'll definitely be back for more! –RDM

5.0 out of 5 stars First book in the Kelli Storm series, October 27, 2011
By 
Paul Rice (Herndon, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
Reading Storm Rising by Kenneth Hoss was like watching several entertaining episodes back-to-back of a television crime show set in New York City such as NYPD. There were conflicts and resolutions in all levels: between the local police and the Feds; between the local police and the criminals; within the protagonist herself, Kelli Storm; and among the characters immediately surrounding Kelli, such as her ex-husband, ex-boyfriend, and mother.
I wanted to keep reading to see what would happen next, so I finished the book in an afternoon. Just like a television series, not all conflicts were resolved. I look forward to the next book in the Kelli Storm series.


4.0 out of 5 stars A good cop book, October 21, 2011
By 
Everett Powers (California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
I'd like to say up front that I'm not a big fan of books with female protagonists. I've enjoyed a few over the years, and Kelli Storm is one I enjoyed reading about. She's depicted with what I feel is a realistic mix of feminine and cop-macho characteristics: she cries, swears, gets a lump in her throat, empties her clip at a bunch of bad guys...

Hoss's writing style is easy to read and the story follows Storm straight through, meaning it's easy to follow the action.

Give a serious look if you like cop books.


5.0 out of 5 starsGreat read, October 20, 2011
By 
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
Kelli Storm is a great character. There is just enough back story about her that you really understand where is coming from and why she reacts the way she does.
If you like fiction crime books this one will really draw you in. It begins well (no slow start like a lot of books) and ends with you wanting to know what happens next. Thank goodness Kenneth Hoss is promising a sequel. Great start to a promising new author.

4.0 out of 5 stars Storm Rising, October 20, 2011
By 
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
Kenneth Hoss's main character, Kelli Storm, is a great protagonist. I found myself loving her at times and despising her at others. Surprisingly, this made the book more enjoyable. A lot of thrillers/mysteries that I've read, I can't stand the main character (Lincoln & Child's Pendergast comes to mind). But with Kelli, she is so human and so driven that it is tough not to like her. This is a great debut novel and I really look forward to book #2.

5.0 out of 5 starsKicking Up a Storm, August 29, 2011
By 
Gail M Baugniet (Honolulu, HI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
The lead character in author Kenneth Hoss's action-packed suspense novel, Storm Rising, is a no nonsense protagonist who takes a back seat to no one.

Detective Kelli Storm fights her own battles, whether she is on a stake-out with a rookie partner or in the heat of a showdown with male counterparts trailing in her wake. She doesn't do patience well, especially when her snitch is late with information about a high ranking drug member who is also a murder suspect.

When the bad guys make things personal for her, a fellow detective discourages her from responding. But Storm lives up to her name and turns the tables until she is back in control. Now, with emotions high, the action is kicked up another notch. The story unfolds in Mr. Hoss's descriptive voice, moving between New York's Bronx, Yonkers, and Brooklyn before following the trail of drug dealers south.

Kelli Storm's complicated personal life is at odds with her career, where her performance suggests she has nothing to lose. How she maintains her equilibrium in both areas of her life is the essence of this story.


5.0 out of 5 starsA great thriller for everyone., August 1, 2011
By 
reggie "Author" (bakersfield, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading Storm Rising. I really got into the character Kelly Storm who is sort of a loose cannon on the police force. She doesn't follow rules and has a gritty edge. She is like a dirty Harry, but a female detective. The story weaves current events into the past. Muchl of the drama takes place while she is wrestling with how to take care of her mother who has alzheimers. She is driven to find her father's murderer. She also is enlisting the help of her ex, who is also a cop. Someone is out to kill Kelly and anyone associated closely to her. This sets up a string of murders, kidnappings and intense drama which will keep you turning pages and wanting more. Looking forward to the sequel and Kelly Storm adventures. Great debut thriller from a new writer who writes from the hip and doesn't hold anything back.

5.0 out of 5 starsDefinitely worth a read!, July 4, 2011
By 
This review is from: Storm Rising - A Kelli Storm Novel (Kindle Edition)
Kenneth Hoss has a well-rounded character in Kelli Storm. Although, a tough and determined Detective, she has a vulnerability to her. His research and knowledge of police work show through in the pages of Storm Rising. A must read for those who love police procedural mysteries.